Hockey News and Honors

High School hockey all-stars were recently named for Monroe County, named by the league and officials.  Congratulations to David Battisti, who was named player of the year, and to Guiseppe Fiorillo, for being named first team.  Click here for the complete list of honorees.  An additional article can be found on the Pickin’ Splinters site, here.

Battisti and Fiorillo were also selected to participate in the 16th annual Scotty Bowman Showcase against teams from Buffalo before the event was canceled due to the coronavirus. Click here for that article.

Former McQ player Jack Dugan is up for the prestigious Hobey Baker award for college hockey, as we mentioned in a prior news post.   He is currently a top ten finalist…click here to for the article.  The Hobey Baker award committee will select a winner on April 10.