A state-approved Driver Education course is offered at McQuaid Jesuit three times a year. Registration is open to anyone age 16 or older with a valid learner’s permit. The cost for the Theory course is $320. Successful completion of the course will result in students receiving the MV-285 Certificate of Completion certificate issued by the State of New York Education Department.
McQuaid will be offering the DMV certified a Driver Education Course online Via Zoom. Cost: $320
Due to COVID social distancing rules we cannot run the Driver Education car with an instructor. However, NYSED is allowing parents to complete the 24 hour driving component with their teen. Parents will be provided with what needs to be accomplished on the road and a form to sign that verifies completion.
Students must meet the following criteria to enroll in the class:
- Currently enrolled in a high school
- Sixteen years old by the start of the session
- Permission from parent or guardian (signed Confirmation Letter brought to first class)
- Learner’s Permit or Operator’s License (brought to first class)
- Commit to 24 hours of theory in accordance with the attached schedule
Due to COVID social distancing rules we cannot run the Driver Education car with an instructor. However, NYSED is allowing parents to complete the 24 hour driving component with their teen. *Parents will be provided with what needs to be accomplished on the road and a form to sign that verifies completion.
Driver Education Attendance Policy: New York State requires 24 hours of classroom instruction, 18 hours of road observation and six hours of wheel time* before a MV-285 certificate can be issued. Students need to be present for every class and complete their car times to receive their certificate. In the event of class or car being canceled by the instructor the class will be made up at a later date before the close of the semester at the school’s expense. The instructor will contact parents by phone regarding the cancellation. If a student misses class or car for any other reason, a make up class will need to be scheduled with the instructor. There is an additional fee for make up classes. The fee is $20 per make-up session per student. With one student the the minimum make-up fee is $40 per class. A student must make up their missed class or classes before the close of the semester in which the program started per NYS law. If a student does not make up the classes before the end of the semester the program certificate and fee are forfeit.
There are 30 seats available in the 1st and 2nd semester sessions. There are 20 seats available for each of the two summer sessions. Registration for each session will open at the announced date and time. Once there are the maximum number of registrations completed online, the registration period will close. Car assignments will be filled by lottery and a confirmation email sent.
- Complete the online registration form
- Payment is due at the time of registration. A check in the amount of . Registrations are not considered complete without payment.
- Online Payment of $320. Refunds will be issued if notified within three days of receipt of Confirmation Letter.
- Must be able to commit to all scheduled theory classes and car driving schedule (Please read the complete schedule very carefully)
First Semester Session II
The first semester session 2 runs from December 1, 2020 through January 5, 2021 (about 6 weeks). Theory Classes run Tuesday through Thursday from 3 – 4:30 p.m. (except the weeks of December 20th and December 27th when, due to the holidays, classes will be Monday through Wednesday). read the complete schedule thoroughly.
Online Registration for the 1st Semester Session 2 of Driver Education opens at 1 p.m. on Wednesday, November 25, 2020 and will close as soon as all slots are filled.
Second Semester Sessions
Second Semester Sessions – Saturday, January 25, 2021 through Saturday, May 30, 2021. The times and dates are still to be determined.
This Certification from this Driver’s Education Course qualifies students to take the New York State Driving Test, therefore students registering in Driver Education do not need to register for the 5 Hour Course below.
Payment is due at the time of registration. Please mail a check to:
Driver’s Education Registration
1800 S. Clinton Avenue
Rochester, NY 14618
Registrations are not considered complete without payment.
Click Here for PDF of the First Semester Session 2 Theory Schedule